Advisory Panel

The Trustees of the Golden Fleece Award are supported by an Advisory Panel. Their knowledge and expertise is vital in guiding the development of the Award.

The Golden Fleece Advisory Panel is an independent committee engaged by the Golden Fleece Trust to review and provide feedback on Golden Fleece Award applications. The five Advisory Panel members are specialists with backgrounds in visual art, design, craft and applied arts, and now usually serve a term of three years.

Following a review of applications received, every Panel member submits a personal longlist of ten applicants. From these they select a shortlist of between four and eight artists at a special meeting held in January each year. In February, the Chair of the Advisory Panel presents the Panel’s shortlist and their recommendations for the Award to the Board of Trustees, who then decide how the Award will be distributed.

2019 Golden Fleece Award Advisory Panel

Patrick T. Murphy (Chair)
Director, Royal Hibernian Academy
Patrick T. Murphy has been Director of the Royal Hibernian Academy since 1999. In 2009, he oversaw the complete refurbishment of the RHA building on Ely Place. A graduate of Trinity College Dublin, previous positions include Director of the Institute of Contemporary Arts, Philadelphia; Director of the Douglas Hyde Gallery, Dublin; and Exhibitions Officer with The Arts Council / An Chomhairle Ealaíon.

Eoin Mac Lochlainn
Visual Artist

Eoin Mac Lochlainn completed a BA in Fine Art (Painting) at the National College of Art & Design, Dublin in 2000 and is represented by Olivier Cornet Gallery, Dublin. He has had more than ten solo exhibitions in Ireland and has participated in selected and invited exhibitions (including the RHA, RUA, Iontas and Éigse) and in various group shows in England, France, The Netherlands, Georgia, China and the USA. He lives and works in Dublin. Mac Lochlainn won the Golden Fleece Award in 2008 and the ESB Keating McLaughlin Medal & Award in 2010, and his work features in numerous public and corporate collections. He has completed several projects through The Arts Council’s Artists-in-Prisons Scheme and and his art blog, Scéalta Ealaíne, is published weekly.

Ann Mulrooney
Director, Science Gallery Dublin

Ann Mulrooney graduated with a BA in Fine Art from the Crawford College of Art, Cork and an MA in Sculpture from the Royal College of Art, London. She exhibited widely in the UK and Ireland and worked as a freelance curator in Ireland and the UK before joining the Design and Crafts Council of Ireland (DCCOI) in 2008 to run the National Design and Craft Gallery, where she directed and curated national and international exhibitions. From 2013 to 2018 she was CEO and Artistic Director of VISUAL Centre for Contemporary Art in Carlow. She has been a lecturer, external assessor and frequent contributor to cultural publications and programmes and was selected for Tate Intensive, an international professional practice programme at Tate Modern in 2017. She was appointed Director of Science Gallery Dublin in late 2018.

Angela O’Kelly
Jeweller and Head of Design for Body & Environment, NCAD

Angela O’Kelly studied Jewellery & Silversmithing at Edinburgh College of Art, Scotland and completed an MA in Arts Management & Cultural Policy at University College Dublin in 2004. Her work crosses the boundaries of jewellery, textiles and sculpture, combining eclectic materials and textures through the use of traditional techniques and new technologies. She has exhibited extensively in Ireland and abroad, currently works as Head of Design for Body & Environment at the National College of Art & Design, Dublin, and is an established curator of craft and design.

Robert Russell
Printmaker and Studio Director, Graphic Studio Dublin
Robert Russell is the long-term Studio Director and Master Printer at Graphic Studio Dublin. He is an accomplished printmaker with an established exhibition record and his works are held in many public collections, including the National Gallery of Ireland, Chester Beatty Library and The British Library. Robert studied at IADT in Dún Laoghaire, where he specialised in Sculpture. He was a recipient of the Alfred Beit Award and the Norah McGuinness Award for his work in sculpture, and also received a prize in the Taylor Art Competition in 1980.

Past Advisory Panel Members (2002-2018)

Past members of the Golden Fleece Award Advisory Panel include Róisín de Buitléar (glass artist, former lecturer in the Glass Department at NCAD, Dublin and former Chair of the Golden Fleece Advisory Panel), Carey Clarke (artist and Past President of the Royal Hibernian Academy), Martin Gale (visual artist and former Board member of the National Gallery of Ireland), Nancy Larchet (close friend of Lillias Mitchell, prominent member of the Watercolour Society of Ireland, and original Chair of the Golden Fleece Advisory Panel), Helen McAllister (Head of Applied Materials at NCAD, Dublin), Bairbre Ní Fhloinn (lecturer in Irish folklore and Ethnology, University College Dublin), Kevin O’Dwyer (silversmith, sculptor and freelance curator), Dara O’Leary (Arts Programme Manager, Royal Dublin Society), Neil Reid (ceramicist and former Chair of the Golden Fleece Advisory Panel) and Veronica Rowe (weaver and textile historian).