2024 Golden Fleece Award Shortlist Announced

2024 Golden Fleece Award Shortlist Announced

Eight creative practitioners have been shortlisted for the 2024 Golden Fleece Award, with a prize fund worth €32,000.

The Trustees of the Golden Fleece Award are delighted to announce the shortlist of visual artists, craftspeople, and makers qualifying for the 2024 Award. Those shortlisted for the twenty-third annual Award are: Áine Mac Giolla Bhríde (sculpture / installation), Caoimhe Kilfeather (sculpture / installation), Elinor O'Donovan (mixed media / film), Frances Crowe (weaving), Genevieve Howard (wearble art / jewellery), Kian Benson Bailes (installation / mixed media), Peter Sheehan (design / craft), and Sam Gleeson (knifemaking).

The prize fund for 2024 is worth a total of €32,000, making the Golden Fleece Award the most generous art prize open to both visual artists and craftspeople in Ireland. One main award worth €10,000 will be made in each category - Visual Art and Craft + Applied Art - with the additional €12,000 to be divided equally between the remaining six shortlisted artists. The winners of this year's Award will be named at a public Ceremony taking place on Wednesday 20 March in the Dr Tony Ryan Gallery at the Royal Hibernian Academy, Dublin. All are welcome to attend.

The Golden Fleece Award was established as a charitable bequest by Lillias Mitchell (1915-2000) to give artists "a 'boost' in times of particular need". It is governed by a Board of Trustees that includes members of the Mitchell family, professional fund managers, consultants and arts professionals who work closely together to fulfil her wishes. The Award was initially restricted to traditional crafts and figurative visual art but in 2018 the criteria were broadened to include creative practitioners working across all forms of visual, craft and applied arts.

The Board of Trustees is supported by a specialist Advisory Panel, whose knowledge and experience are invaluable in guiding the development of the award and selecting the annual shortlist. The 2024 Advisory Panel has expanded to six members, comprising Clíodhna Shaffrey (Panel Chair and Director, Temple Bar Gallery and Studios); Roger Bennett (woodturner); Sara Flynn (ceramicist); Joe Hogan (basketmaker); Hugh Mulholland (Creative Director, Visual Arts, the MAC); and Niamh O'Malley (visual artist).

To view images of the shortlisted applicants' work and find out more about their practices, please visit the 'Artists' section of our website.